The Task Force Energy Charter defines the background, purpose, organization, and roles / responsibilities for the Navy Task Force. The Task Force is charged with developing the metrics, processes, tools, and organizational structure to support the Navy Energy Strategy.

The Task Force consists of a flag level Executive Steering Committee, a Navy Energy Coordination Office, and seven Working Groups. The Executive Steering Committee (ESC) reports to Deputy Chief of Naval Operations, Fleet Readiness and Logistics (CNO N4) and champions the Task Force, provide oversight and direction and ensure that Navy needs are adequately and appropriately addressed. The ESC is chaired by OPNAV N4B. Members include 1 / 2-star equivalent representation from Naval Sea Systems Command (NAVSEA), Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR), Office of Naval Research (ONR), Naval Facilities Command (NAVFAC), Commander Naval Installation Command (CNIC), Director, warfare Integration (CNO NSF), Director, Environmental Readiness (CNO N45), QDR Integration Group, Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Navy Installations and Environment OASN (I&E), Commander, and U.S . Fleet Forces Command (USFF). OPNAV N45 is the Executive Secretary to the ESC. Advisors to the ESC include: Chief Information Office (CHINFO), Office of Naval Intelligence (ONI) , and Headquarters, U.S. Marine Corps for Installations and Logistics (I&L).

The seven working Groups/ESC co-chairs are:

  1. Maritime/NAVSEA-N86: Navy Surface and subsurface craft
  2. Aviation/NAVAIR-N88: Navy aircraft and ground support equipment
  3. Expeditionary/OPNAV NSS: Navy Expeditionary Combat Command
  4. Shore/NAVFAC-CNIC: Navy installations and non-tactical vehicles
  5. Fuels/OPNAV N43-0NR: Alternative Fuels test and certification protocols
  6. Environment/DASN(E)-OPNAV N4S: Environmental policy and regulations impacting all working groups
  7. Strategic Impacts/ONR : Research/Intel focused energy shocks impacting all working groups